There are certain settings that can be adjusted for the Carer Companion App from the management portal.
Settings are global - meaning that they will affect every carer within your environment and can't be scoped by teams.
App Configuration options can be found by opening Settings from the main navigation, and then clicking the App Config tab. This page lists all available options for adjusting the behaviour of the app.
Checking in and out
Allow carers to start unplanned visits
Checking this option allows a carer to scan a QR code and start a visit for a client when there is not one on their rota. The marker will need to be scanned for this to work and you will also need to reconcile the visit after it has happened before it is taken into account for invoicing or payroll.
See Unplanned Visits for more information.
Allow checking out without scanning the QR code
With this option enabled, it is possible for carers check out without using the marker. When trying to check out, there will be an option saying No marker? at the bottom of the screen. This will allow you to check out and provide a reason why the marker wasn't scanned.
Allow checking in without scanning the QR code
With this option enabled, it is possible for carers to check in without using the marker. When trying to check out, there will be an option saying No marker? at the bottom of the screen. This will allow you to check out and provide a reason why the marker wasn't scanned.
This option is only effective when "Allow checking out without scanning the QR code" is also enabled.
For both checking in/out without a marker, the options are:
Forgot to scan
Marker is missing
Other - Reason must be typed in a box
Require a comment when checking out
When not ticked, handover notes are optional but you can make it so a carer must enter a note when checking out.
How long before/after the planned visit time that the carer will be allowed to check in.
By default, 2 hours before and after is allowed; meaning that for a visit booked for 12pm, the carer will be able to start the visit between 10am and 2pm.
This allows the carer a bit of flexibility in case the order of their visits needs to change at the last minute and the roster hasn't been updated yet.
Restrict access to visit details
By default carers will be able to see all information available about a booking, including notes, documents & tasks.
You can optionally restrict access this information so that it is only available within a specified period. If enabled, carers will also not be able to edit notes and tasks once the period ends.
Only whilst checked in?
Carers will only be able to access visit details once they've checked in. If enabled, the "Before visits start" and "After visit finishes" options will not have any effect.
Before visit starts
Configure how long before the visit starts that carers will be able to access visit details.
After visit finishes
How long after the visit has finished (the carer has checked out) the carer will still be able to access details of the visit.
When enabled, the carer will still be able to see the name of the client and the address; but they won't be able to see any other information.
Choose how the client's name should be displayed within the app.
Full name (Joe Bloggs)
Last name initial (Joe B)
First name initial (J Bloggs)
Allow screenshots within app (Android only)
This option controls whether Android users are able to take screenshots within the app. If it is not ticked, the carer will not be able to take a screenshot. There is no option to stop iOS users from taking screenshots.
Allow carers to take photos
Control whether a carer can take photos within the app or not. These photos are only against task completions and notes. See Photos for more information.
Show client contact details
If this option is ticked, the client's details such as an email address or phone number will be displayed within the app and, the carer will be able to view and use these details.
Show carer contact details
This is for bookings with more than 1 carer. This option allows a carer to view the contact details of the other carer(s) on the booking. You can choose whether to show their mobile number, work number, or both.
Controls whether or not a carer can complete a task within the app.
Prevent checking out if tasks haven't been completed
When enabled, this setting will stop a carer checking out if there are task completions outstanding.
You can allow a carer to edit tasks after their completion has been added. As a default, this is set to 120 minutes (2 hours) for both but you can choose how long this should be. If set to 0 then they will not be editable at all.
You can allow a carer to edit notes after they've been recorded.
As a default, this is set to 120 minutes (2 hours) for both but you can choose how long this should be. If set to 0 then they will not be editable at all.
Enable soft authentication
Soft authentication involves the carer being required to re-enter their device lock screen password after a period of time. This is a measure to prevent unauthorised parties from being able to access the app if the phone is found unlocked. More information can be found on the page: Carer Companion App - Security Soft Authentication
Enable carer concerns
Enabled as a default, this option determines whether a carer can log a concern against a note, task or observation. This will then flag up in the web environment for acknowledging, or to begin an incident report.
If disabled, carers will not be able to log concerns.
Allow carers to record observations when they're checked into a visit.
Allow photos for observations
Allow carers to attach photos to observations.